francais

dina kelberman




I’M GOOGLE is an ongoing tumblr blog in which batches of images and videos that I cull from the internet are compiled into a long stream-of-consciousness. The batches move seamlessly from one subject to the next based on similarities in form, composition, color, and theme. This results visually in a colorful grid that slowly changes as the viewer scrolls through it. Images of houses being demolished transition into images of buildings on fire, to forest fires, to billowing smoke, to geysers, to bursting fire hydrants, to fire hoses, to spools of thread. The site is constantly updated week after week, batch by batch, sometimes in bursts, sometimes very slowly.


I’m Google
2011 – ongoing
http://dinakelberman.tumblr.com
The Thing Itself
2008
Gouache, pen, white-out on inkjet print, 8.5’’ x 11’’






















Cloud Formations
2012
Animated GIFs from blurred movie credits
Sleep Video
2013
Overlaid YouTube playlists of found videos continuously edited & reconfigured



Simpsons GIFs
2009 – ongoing
Animated GIFS
Note

I am very interested in resourcefulness and enjoy setting up limitations and then seeing what is possible within them.  In this way my work is very much a game.  I make things as I am compelled to make them and consider why later, often making connections I didn’t consciously set out to realize.  Much of my work comes out of my natural tendency to spend long hours collecting and organizing imagery from the internet, television, and other commonplace surroundings of my everyday life. 

I gravitate towards things that are simple, colorful, industrial, and mundane. I am also interested in using materials that are easily accessible and familiar to the everyday person. My work seeks to elevate the familiar and transform brief moments into infinite stretches of time. In close examination of the simple or the seemingly insignificant the viewer may bring their own limitless associations.

Bio

Dina Kelberman is an artist living and working in Baltimore, MD.  She works in a wide variety of
media including screencaps, animated gifs, comics, painting, playwriting, photography, and sculpture. She has shown and spoken about her work internationally, is a founding member of the Wham City artist collective and a weekly comics contributor to the Baltimore City Paper.  Kelberman was recently invited to create an original web-based piece, « Smoke and Fire, » for the New Museum.




To see more works of Dina Kelberman :

http://dinakelberman.com

english

dina kelberman




I’M GOOGLE est un tumblr affichant un flux continu d’images et videos recueillis sur le net et compilés sur un principe d’écriture automatique. Les groupes d’images glissent d’un sujet à l’autre par jeu de forme, couleur ou thème. Le résultat visuel est une grille colorée qui se transforme doucement au fur et à mesure que le spectateur navigue dans la fenêtre. Des images de maison en cours de destructions appellent des images des bâtiments en feu, puis des incendies de fôret, des volutes de fumée, des geysers, des bouches d’incendies en explosion, des lances à incendie, des bobines de fil. Le site est mis à jour continuellement, semaine par semaine, groupe d’images par groupe d’images, parfois brusquement, parfois très lentement.


I’m Google
2011 – en cours
http://dinakelberman.tumblr.com
The Thing Itself
2008
Gouache, stylo, tipex sur impression jet d’encre, 20 x 28 cm






















Cloud Formations
2012
Gifs animés à partir de génériques de film floutés
Sleep Video
2013
Superposition de séries de vidéo trouvées sur YouTube, continuellement remontées et reconfigurées



Simpsons GIFs
2009 – en cours
Gifs animés
Note

Je suis très intéressée par la notion de ressource à laquelle j’aime imposer des limites afin de voir ce qui peut se passer ensuite. De cette manière, mon travail ressemble à un jeu, je fais les choses au fur et à mesure et je réfléchi au pourquoi après, souvent en découvrant des connections involontaires. Un bonne partie de mon travail provient d’un penchant naturel pour les longues séance de collecte d’images sur le net, à la télévision et autres lieux environnant ma vie de tous les jours.
Je suis attirée par des choses simples, colorées, industrielles, triviales. J’utilise des matériaux accessibles et familier à tout le monde. A travers mon travail, je cherche à transcender le familier et a étirer des instants brefs en moments infinis. En percevant ces choses simples, presque insignifiantes, le spectateur peut y apporter ses propres associations sans limites.

Bio

Dina Kelberman est une artiste qui vit et travaille à Baltimore dans le Maryland. Elle travaille avec une grande diversité de média, captures d’écrans, gifs animés, bande-dessinées, peinture, pièces de théâtre, photographie et sculpture. Elle a montré et présenté son travail internationalement, elle est une membre fondatrice du collectif d’artistes Wham City. Elle contribue également à la bande dessiné hebdomadaire de Baltimore City Paper. Kelberman a été invitée à réaliser récemment une pièce web originale pour le New Museum intitulée « Smoke and Fire ».




Pour voir plus du travail de Dina Kelberman :

http://dinakelberman.com