francais

elizaveta konovalova

Inn Diary
2012
Photographic diary realized between the 21st of august and the 30th of September 2012, during the residency at Nairs contemporary art centre, Switzerland.
daily images, taken from the same place, at the same moment of the day.


* phrases, heard during the residency at Nairs about the river Inn, assembled in an imaginary dialog.
Winter
2012
wall drawing, grey pencil
work made during the residency at Nairs contemporary art centre, Switzerland.


I created this work during my stay at Nairs in 2012. Located in the lower part of the Engadine valley, « nairs » comes from the local dialect and means « black » or « dark » – during winter time the sunlight does not succeed to get there. This image was at the starting point of the project.
The walls inside the building of the residency, situated in a former thermal cure centre built in 1912, were once covered by tiles halfway up. Now, this part of the wall is covered with white wallpaper laid over the tiles, what makes this surface slightly thicker. I covered the top of the wall with a pencil drawing, using the basic method to create shade. The drawing runs all over the perimeter of the space, thus the separation between the wall surfaces traces a horizon line and suggests a winter landscape.

Pointing North
2012
sharpened pencils

Black and White

2011

gradation of snow
white snow, dirty snow of different shades, collected on the streets

Moscow, Ekaterininsky park
Note

My work is constantly fueled by the challenge of a new environment. Rather than follow a line, I cultivate my ability to respond plastically to a situation, a place, an object or a specific context. My practice could be then perceived as migrant. Such an approach is primarily due to my desire to question various aspects of the world and to preserve an experimental and curious approach.




Diverting the method of systematic production, I nourish my work with all sorts of observations. The core of my practice is thus taking shape in a synthesis of various influences, confronting my intuition to research. Naturally I am developing a multidisciplinary practice.




One of my concerns is to create on-going projects – projects that can be activated or re-activated in a specific context and by thus exist in the infinitive form. 
Starting with a space, object, or situation, I link stories to simple shapes. I seek to disrupt the obviousness of things that attract my attention by proposing a logic where factual and sensitive realities coexist.

Bio

Born in 1986 in Moscow, lives and works in Paris.
Elizaveta Konovalova studies at the National Fine Arts School of Paris (ENSBA) in Jean Luc Vilmouth’s studio. In 2009 she participates in the exchange program at the Cooper Union School of Art in New York. In 2010 she graduates with the exhibition « Ici ou Jamais » (from French : here or never). In 2011 she stays at the artists residency at Malterie, Lille, France. In 2012 she is invited as artist in residence at Nairs center for contemporary art, Switzerland, during the Culturescapes festival.




Selected group exhibitions:
Être dans, Finish Institute, Paris ; Full White Cube, Frédéric Giroux gallery, Paris ; Paris-Hanoï/Hanoï-Paris, l’Espace, French cultural center of Hanoï ; Collection printemps-été, EDF Electra Foundation, Paris ; Première Vue, Passage de Retz, Paris ; Mindmap, la Malterie, Lille ; CAIRNS, 22,48 m2 gallery, Paris; Grand Huit, l’Entre Deux, Pantin, France; Curraint d’Ajer, Nairs center for contemporary art, Scuol, Suisse; Fonctions Obliques, Eugène Beaudouin contemporary art space, Paris; Bonus, Espace des Arts sans Frontières, Paris.




To see more works of d’Elizaveta Konovalova :

elizavetakonovalova.com

english

elizaveta konovalova

Inn Diary
2012
Journal photographique mené entre le 21 août et le 30 septembre 2012, lors du séjour en résidence au centre d’art contemporain Nairs, Suisse.
Images journalières, prises au même endroit de la rivière au même moment de la journée.


* Phrases entendues au sujet de la rivière Inn lors de mon séjour en résidence à Nairs, réunies dans un dialogue imaginaire.
- L’as-tu vu ce matin ? Il était comme du café au lait.
- Je l’ai vu quelques heures plus tôt, il était gris et dense comme une sorte de ciment.
- J’espère qu’il sera bleu à nouveau.
Hiver
2012
Dessin mural au crayon gris
Réalisé lors du séjour en résidence au centre d’art contemporain Nairs, Suisse.


J’ai réalisé ce travail lors de mon séjour en résidence à Nairs en 2012. Situé dans la partie basse de la vallée de l’Engadine, “nairs” provient du dialecte local et signifie “noir”, “sombre” – le temps de l’hiver la lumière du soleil n’y parvient pas. Cette image a donné le point du départ au projet.
Les murs à l’intérieur du bâtiment de la résidence, situé dans un ancien centre de cure thermale construit en 1912, étaient autrefois recouverts de carrelage à mi-hauteur. A présent, cette partie du mur est recouverte du papier peint blanc, posé par dessus le carrelage. Cette surface est donc légèrement en surépaisseur. J’ai recouvert la partie supérieure du mur par un dessin au crayon, usant du procédé basique pour créer de l’ombre. Le dessin se déploie sur tout le périmètre de l’espace, ou la séparation entre les surfaces murales trace une ligne d’horizon et suggère un paysage hivernal.

Pointing North
2012
Crayons taillés
Détails ; vues de l’exposition Fonctions Obliques, à l’arrière le travail de Flore Chenaux

Noir et Blanc
2011
Dégradé de neige; neige vierge, neige salie de différentes teintes, recueillie dans la rue;
Moscou, parc Ekaterininsky
Note

Mon travail se nourrit davantage par le défi d’un environnement nouveau. Plutôt que de suivre une lignée, je cultive mon aptitude à réagir plastiquement à une situation, à un lieu, à un objet, à un contexte spécifique. Ma pratique pourrait être ainsi perçue comme migrante. Une telle approche provient avant tout de ma volonté de questionner les aspects divers du monde et de préserver une approche expérimentale et un regard curieux.




En opposition à la méthode de production systématique, j’alimente mon travail par toute sorte d’observations. Le fond de ma pratique s’esquisse ainsi dans une synthèse d’influences variées, par la confrontation de mon intuition à des recherches. Naturellement je développe une pratique pluridisciplinaire.




La première de mes préoccupations est de concevoir des projets vivants – projets qui puissent s’activer ou se ré-activer dans un contexte spécifique et exister ainsi à l’infinitif. Avec au départ un espace, un objet, ou une situation, je lie des histoires aux formes simples. Je cherche ainsi à perturber les évidences des choses qui attirent mon attention, en proposant une logique ou coexistent des réalités factuelles et sensibles.

Bio

Née en 1986 à Moscou, vit et travaille à Paris.

Elizaveta Konovalova poursuit sa formation à l’Ecole des Beaux Arts de Paris dans l’atelier de Jean Luc Vilmouth. En 2009 elle participe au programme d’échange à la Cooper Union School of Art à New York. En 2010 elle est diplômée avec l’exposition de fin d’études “Ici ou Jamais”. En 2011 elle effectue un séjour en résidence d’artistes à la Malterie, à Lille. En 2012 elle est invitée en résidence au centre d’art contemporain Nairs, Suisse, dans le cadre du festival Culturescapes.




Sélection d’expositions de groupe :
Être dans, Institut Finlandais, Paris ; Full White Cube, galerie Frédéric Giroux, Paris ; Paris-Hanoï/Hanoï-Paris, l’Espace, Centre Culturel Français de Hanoï ; Collection printemps-été, Fondation EDF Electra, Paris ; Première Vue, Passage de Retz, Paris ; Mindmap, la Malterie, Lille ; CAIRNS, galerie 22,48 m2, Paris; Grand Huit, l’Entre Deux, Pantin, France; Curraint d’Ajer, centre d’art contemporain Nairs, Scuol, Suisse; Fonctions Obliques, Espace d’art contemporain Eugène Beaudouin, Paris; Bonus, Espace des Arts sans Frontières, Paris.