francais

jeremy berton

Quick Sands
2012
Variable dimensions, polyurethane foam, styrofoam, epoxy resin
Slide
2012
263 x 120 x 88 cm, acrylic resin, stepladder

Flash
2012
170 x 40 x 60 cm, aluminum sheet
Random orbit
2011
Painted wood, acrylic resin, tinged plaster, metal, 300 x 400 x 230 cm
Note

Hybridization, collisions, stylization… new forms emerge from these processes. What is familiar is transformed into ambiguous objects. I go on exploring signs and elements of language, making variations on fluctuating themes, composing objects that stand between figuration and abstraction, seduction and repulsion, irony and lightness.

With the means of sculpture, my images are colourful, playful, with a certain monumentality contrasting with a sense of humour. I juggle with forms and materials, looking for a balance to embody immaterial phenomenons.

The objects arise from different sources : picotgramms, comicbooks, adventure movies, childhood… Drawing is the first step, volume will enhance the ideas and disturb the points of reference.

Bio

Jérémy Berton was born in 1986, he lives and works in the eastern parisian suburbs.
He graduated from the Beaux Arts of Paris in 2010, where he studied
sculpture. His first solo show was at the Premier Regard Gallery in Paris in May 2011. He has taken part in many collective shows, such as : Trois en Un, la sculpture, Camille Lambert Art Center, Juvisy, Grand huit at l’Entre deux in Pantin, Parade Quincy Abbaye, (all three in France), and Cok Mersi in Istanbul, Turkey




To see more works of Jeremy Berton :

http://cargocollective.com/jeremyberton

english

jeremy berton

Quick Sands
2012
Dimensions variable, mousse polyuréthane, polystyrène, résine époxy
Toboggan
2012
263 x 120 x 88 cm, résine acrylique, escabeau

Flash
2012
170 x 40 x 60 cm, tôle d’aluminium
Orbite aléatoire
2011
Bois peint, résine acrylique, crépis teinté, métal, 300 x 400 x 230 cm
Note

Hybridations et collisions, saturation ou effets de style font surgir des formes autres. Ce qui nous est familier est détourné et réinvesti dans des objets ambivalents : entre figuration et abstraction, séduction et agression, légèreté et ironie. Je poursuis une exploration décalée de signes et d’éléments de langage, sur le mode de la variation autour d’un thème fluctuant.

C’est avec les moyens de la sculpture que je conçois des images ludiques et colorées, jouant avec humour du caractère spectaculaire et d’une certaine forme de monumentalité. C’est un jeu d’équilibre : jongler avec les formes et les matériaux pour s’approprier des signes, donner corps à de l’immateriel.

Mes sculptures coexistent dans la construction d’un vocabulaire qui emprunte aléatoirement à divers domaines : au territoire de l’enfance, au langage pictographique, à la bédé, aux films d’aventure… Les choses s’élaborent dans un rapport étroit au dessin, le volume les augmente et trouble les repères.

Je tente de me tenir sur un fil en fabriquant des images qui se déploient dans l’espace et appellent une multiplicité de sens. Ce sont des narrations sans suite, des fictions muettes.

Bio

Jérémy Berton est né en 1986, il vit aux Lilas et travaille à Pantin en Seine Saint Denis.
Diplômé des Beaux Arts de Paris en 2010, il poursuit un travail de sculpture et de dessin. Sa première exposition personnelle a eu lieu à la galerie Premier Regard en mai 2011. Il a participé à des expositions collectives : Trois en Un au centre d’art Camille Lambert de Juvisy, Grand huit à l’Entre deux à Pantin, Parade à l’abbaye de Quincy, Cok Mersi à Istanbul.




Pour voir plus du travail de Jérémy Berton :

http://cargocollective.com/jeremyberton