francais

laetitia benichou

Erik & Sylvain, Un tout petit bout d’hiver, une goutte de printemps
2011
Gelatin silver prints and C-Prints, variable dimensions
Erik & Sylvain, Un tout petit bout d’hiver, une goutte de printemps
Fanzine
21 x 14,8 cm, 32 pages
Self-published, limited print of 50, numbered and signed
Paris, May 2011
Cahier n°1
18,5 x 11,4 cm, 89 pages
Self-published, limited print of 100
Paris, May 2009
Portraits
2008-2009
C-Prints, variable dimensions
Scène
2008
Gelatin silver prints, variable dimensions
Souvenir n°12
Video, 3 min 43
Souvenir n°14
Video, 6 min 53
Note

My work, essentially photographic, is based on the observation of those around me in their everyday life and the question of the portrait.
Capturing a moment of tension, a moment of madness or just carelessness but also the seriousness and the strange calm that one can let out or show.
Capturing the dissonances and similarities between the world of childhood and adulthood. Thus, it’s just as well their games, their casualness, their freedom and energy, as their gravity and fragility that i focus on.

Bio

Born in 1983 in Toulouse, lives and works in Paris.

After a degree in Fine Arts at the University of Toulouse Mirail, Lætitia entered the Ecole National Supérieure des Beaux-Arts in Paris in 2005 and joined the studio run by Elsa Cayo. She obtained her DNSAP with honours in 2008 for two photographic series, the outline of Cahier n°1 and her video Souvenirs. In 2009, she continued her cursus in Fine Arts with a post-graduation and participated in the Feldstärke International 09 workshop in Paris, Essen and Los Angeles and she obtained a residency of two months in Tupac, (Lima, Peru) where she continued her photographic portraits.
The exhibition Fables and fragments, a show of all the graduated students with honours in 2008, was the occasion to publish Cahier n°1, her collection of written portraits. Her second self-published book is a photo zine shown in 2011 on the occasion of the exhibition Erik & Sylvain, after a residency in the Espace III Croix-Baragnon of Toulouse, in collaboration with the Centre de Photographie of Lectoure.




To see more works of Laetitia Benichou :

http://laetitiabenichou.com

english

laetitia benichou

Erik & Sylvain, Un tout petit bout d’hiver, une goutte de printemps
2011
Tirages argentiques couleur et N&B, dimensions variables
Erik & Sylvain, Un tout petit bout d’hiver, une goutte de printemps
Fanzine édité à compte d’auteur, tirage limité à 50 ex. numérotés et signés
21 x 14,8 cm / 32 pages
Paris, Mai 2011
Cahier n°1
18,5 x 11,4 cm, 89 pages
Edité à compte d’auteur, tirage limité à 100 ex.
Paris, Mai 2009
Portraits
2008-2009
Tirages argentiques couleur, dimensions variables
Scène
2008
Tirages argentiques n&b, dimensions variables
Souvenir n°12
Video, 3 min 43
Souvenir n°14
Video, 6 min 53
Note

Mon travail, essentiellement photographique, est basé sur l’observation des gens qui m’entourent dans leur quotidien et la question du portrait.
Saisir un instant de tension, un moment de folie ou juste de laisser-aller mais aussi le sérieux et l’étrange calme que les gens peuvent laisser échapper ou donner à voir.
Saisir également les dissonances et les similitudes entre le monde de l’enfance et celui des adultes. Ainsi, c’est aussi bien sur leurs jeux, leur désinvolture, leur liberté et leur énergie que sur leur gravité et leur fragilité que je me focalise.

Bio

Née en 1983 à Toulouse, vit et travaille à Paris.
Après une licence en Arts Plastiques à l’Université du Mirail de Toulouse, Lætitia entre aux Beaux-Arts de Paris en 2005 et intègre l’atelier Elsa Cayo. Elle obtient son DNSAP avec les félicitations du jury en 2008 en présentant deux séries de portraits photographiques, l’ébauche du Cahier n°1 et ses Souvenirs vidéo. En 2009 elle continue son cursus au sein des Beaux-Arts avec un post-diplôme et participe au workshop Feldstärke International 09 à Paris, Essen et Los Angeles et obtient une résidence de deux mois à Tupac (Lima, Pérou), où elle continue sa série de portraits photographiques.
L’exposition Fables et fragments qui présente les diplômés félicités de la promotion 2008, sera l’occasion d’éditer Cahier n°1, son recueil de portraits écrits. Sa deuxième auto-édition sort en 2011, sous la forme d’un fanzine photo, à l’occasion de l’exposition Erik & Sylvain, suite à une résidence à l’Espace III Croix-Baragnon de Toulouse, en collaboration avec le Centre de Photographie de Lectoure.




Pour voir plus du travail de Laetitia Benichou :

http://laetitiabenichou.com