francais

marcos avila forero




In response to my invitation by New Folder, I decided to present, for the first time, images and videos that document the context in which originate a certain number of my works. These documents are not part of the final pieces and have never yet been exhibited. Four of my recent works are presented, they each have in common the fact that they exist as a description of the context which created their meaning of being.
The golden raft
2011
Ephemeral Sculpture – Materials: Corn plants, bamboo structure.
Harvest of the corn plants used for the construction of the golden raft



La Balsa Dorada (The golden raft)


« This is the story of a great confusion. When the Spanish arrived in the region, they listened to the stories of the Muisca. The elders spoke of a sacred place where the Zipa, from a raft, made offerings of Gold (El Dorado) … The Spaniards searched for what they had understood to be real gold. But infact the gold was only a reference to the colour of the corn offerings. »
Edilberto Mendoza.


This raft was built from the braiding of corn plants grown in a cultivated field using Muiscas methods. It is a replica of the Golden Raft (Gold Museum in Bogotá.), a piece of Muisca jewelry made between the VII and X century which refers to El Dorado, a legend that has travelled throughout the centuries and fed the minds of many men up until today, leading to many massacres but has also lead to extraordinary literary, musical and film productions… This work breaks the myth and plunges us into the economic reality of a culture whose main treasure was corn.
A Tarapoto, un manati
2011
Video installation : HD Projection and CRT. 18 mins.
Extract from the video installation « A Tarapoto, un manati ».
Testimonies of people from the Cocama and Ticuna communities, who motivated the project « A Tarapoto, un manati ».



A Tarapoto, un manati

This work outlines an action that took place in Puerto Nariño, a region of Amazonas suspended at the border between Columbia, Peru and Brazil. This project was carried out among Cocamas. Several families of this community told me the myths of the manatee, a sacred animal that has virtually disappeared from the rivers. I worked from these stories in order to “reactivate” them in a social context that seems to have forgotton them. Using memories that an old sculptor had of this animal, we sculpted its shape in wood. Then I asked a young sabedor, an insider from the magic rituals, to travel on the back of the sculpture along the river to Lake Tarapoto, where he left it to drift, guided by the currents.
In San Vicente, a training
2010 – Action during several days and installation, variable dimensions. Materials: wood, dictaphone.



In the Columbian forest, during guerrilla trainings, fighters sculpt the silhouette of a gun in wood with a machete. For several months they will train with these objects imitating the sounds of bullets with their voices.

On one wall hangs a dictaphone, it plays the sounds of one of these trainings. We hear the guerrillas shouting BAM BAM! TRATATATA! And also their commander ordering them: “QUEMEN! “(In English” FIRE! “But more accurately” BURN! “). I execute his command and burn the tips of several rifles that I sculpted using the same methods as the combatants. Then, on the wall where hangs the dictaphone, I seize the guns as real ones, and draw, with the burnt tip, what I can remember of the forest where the training was recorded. This work attempts to create a bridge between two very different contexts, the very act of representing is the central tool in both cases.
The village of VALPARAISO – Photographic Documentation


Valparaiso is a community of about twenty wooden houses, scattered in the mountains of the Santander forest. There is no road, it is accessible only on foot or horseback. Farmers grow coca leaf, banana and cocoa products among others. This place, where I spent part of my childhood, is at the origin and powers several of my works more or less directly or indirectly (eg “The Sucursal Del Paraiso”, “In San Vicente, A Training “). As time passes, I build a fantasmic idea of the existence that continues to advance there, and in parallel (or indifferently) to me.
La Sucursal del Paraiso
2010 – Vidéo, 5 mn


« There it is called « The Branch of Paradise », « Because it’s the most beautiful place on earth, but also because it is there that one is closest to death. »

We see the back of an empty truck. Violent shakes give us hints of a dirt road, a shadow moves inside the truck, they are the only indications of an off-screen. There is a scrolling text at the bottom of the image, it’s a letter. The author tells the story of his village. We learn that he is unable to return because of a conflict.

This video situates us in a space, suspended between two places. The letter gives no information of the whereabouts of the author, we guess that he is not in the region he describes. However the image leads us to believe that the truck is heading for, or leaving the zone, without knowing if it is empty or if the author of the letter is inside. One can just as well imagine that he manages to return or that he never does.
Note

“I am like the one who always carries a stone from his house in his pocket so as to show the world what his home is like.” Bertolt Brecht.


Today, objects and ideas, as do people, travel constantly and rapidly. How do we conceive each social reality, how do perceptions, people and things, in travelling, become transformed in this constant flow?

All of my works begin as an encounter, with a place, a context, a person, a document, a story… and it is from this that the work takes off.

I have a great interest for testimonies, documents, official and unofficial storys, objects or materials that have kept a certain interpretation… All of these elements become the tools which I use to construct each of my pieces. The human being is the main character.

Bio

Columbian artist residing in France. Graduated with honours in 2010 from the Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts in Paris. In 2011 participated in the collective exhibition curated by Jean de Loisy, Le Vent d’Après, in which was attributed the Prix Multimédia Des Fondations des Beaux-Arts (multimedia prize) for « A Tarapoto, Un Manati » and « A San-Vicente, Un entrainement ». Invited to Columbia in 2012 by the French Embassy and the Museum of Modern Art in Medellin for his personal show « De Pasaje ».




To see more works of Marcos Avila Forero :

cargocollective.com/marcosavila

marcosavila.tumblr.com

english

marcos avila forero




Pour répondre à l’invitation de New Folder, j’ai fait le choix de présenter pour la première fois des images et des vidéos qui documentent les contextes à l’origine de certains de mes travaux. Ces documents ne font pas partie des œuvres et n’ont pas été exposés jusqu’à maintenant. Quatre de mes dernières pièces sont présentées ici. Elles ont toutes le point commun d’exister pour décrire le contexte qui les a fait naître.
Le radeau doré
2011
Sculpture éphémère – Matériaux : Plantes de maïs, porteur en bambou.
Récolte des plants de maïs pour la construction du radeau doré



La Balsa Dorada (Le Radeau Doré)


« C’est l’histoire d’une grande confusion. Quand les espagnols sont arrivés dans cette région, ils ont écouté les histoires des Muïscas. Les anciens parlaient d’un lieu sacré où le Zipa faisait sur un radeau l’offrande du Doré (El Dorado)… Les espagnols ont donc cherché ce qu’ils ont bien voulu comprendre : l’or… Mais El Dorado ne faisait référence qu’à la couleur dorée du maïs. ».
Edilberto Mendoza.


Ce radeau a été construit à partir du tressage et tramage de plantes de maïs récoltés dans un champ cultivé avec les méthodes Muïscas. C’est une réplique du Radeau Dorée (Musée de l’Or à Bogotá.), pièce d’orfèvrerie Muïsca réalisé entre le VII et le X siècle qui se réfère à El Dorado, légende qui a traversé les époques et alimenté les esprits de nombreux hommes jusqu’à nos jours, donnant lieu à de nombreux massacres comme à de très riches créations littéraires, musicales, cinématographiques… Ce travail démystifie le mythe et nous plonge dans la réalité économique d’une culture dont le principal trésor était le maïs.
A Tarapoto, un manati
2011
Installation vidéo : Projection HD et écran cathodique. 18 min.
Extraits tirés de l’installation vidéo « A Tarapoto, un manati ».
Témoignages des gens des communautés Cocama et Ticuna, ayant motivé le projet « A Tarapoto, un manati »



A Tarapoto, un manati

Ce travail retrace une action qui s’est déroulée à Puerto Nariño, une zone de l’Amazonas suspendue à la frontière entre la Colombie, le Pérou et le Brésil. Ce projet a été réalisé parmi les Cocamas. Plusieurs familles de cette communauté m’ont raconté les mythes du manati, un animal sacré, aujourd’hui pratiquement disparu des fleuves. J’ai travaillé à partir de ces histoires afin de les « réactiver » dans un contexte social qui tend à les oublier. Avec les souvenirs qu’un vieux sculpteur a gardé de cette bête, nous avons matérialisé sa forme dans le bois. Puis j’ai demandé à un jeune sabedor, un initié aux rituels magiques, de voyager sur le dos de cette sculpture le long du fleuve jusqu’au lac Tarapoto, où il l’a laissée partir à la dérive, guidée par les courants.
A San Vicente, un entraînement
2010 – Action sur plusieurs jours et installation, Dimensions variables. Matériaux : bois, dictaphone.



Dans la forêt Colombienne, lors des entrainements par la guérilla, les combattants sculptent la silhouette d’un fusil en bois avec une machette. Durant plusieurs mois ils vont s’entraîner avec ces objets en imitant avec leurs bouches les bruits des balles.

Sur un mur est accroché un dictaphone, il diffuse les bruits d’un de ces entrainements. On entend les guérilléros crier BAM BAM ! TRATATATA ! Et aussi leur commandant leur donner l’ordre : « QUEMEN ! » (En français « FEU !», mais plus exactement « BRULEZ ! »). J’exécute alors l’ordre donné par le commandant et brûle le bout de plusieurs fusils fabriqués de la même façon que ceux des combattants. Ensuite, sur le mur où est accroché le dictaphone, en empoignant les fusils comme des vrais, je dessine avec le bout brûlé, le souvenir resté de la forêt où l’entrainement a été enregistré. Ce travail tente de créer un pont entre deux contextes très différents, l’acte même de représenter étant l’outil central dans les deux cas.
Le village de VALPARAISO – Documentation photographique


Valparaiso c’est un groupement d’une vingtaine de maisons en bois, qui sont dispersées au milieux des montagnes de la forêt de Santander. Il n’y pas de route, on ne peux y accéder qu’à pied ou à cheval. Les fermiers cultivent la feuille de coca, la banane et le cacao entre autres produits.
Ce lieu, où j’ai passé une partie de mon enfance, est à l’origine et alimente plusieurs de mes créations de façon plus ou moins directe ou indirecte (ex : « La Sucursal Del Paraiso », « A San Vicente, Un Entrainement »). Plus le temps passe, et plus je construis autour de cet endroit un rapport fantasmé d’une existence qui continue à avancer là-bas, et de façon parallèle (voire indifférente) à moi.
La Sucursal del Paraiso
2010 – Vidéo, 5mn


«Là-bas on l’appelle « La Succursale du Paradis », « Parce que c’est l’endroit le plus beau sur terre, mais aussi parce que c’est là-bas qu’on est le plus près de la mort ».»

On voit l’arrière vide d’un camion. La violence des secousses laisse deviner une route en terre, une ombre se déplace à l’intérieur du camion, ce sont les seuls indices d’un hors-champ. Un texte défile au bas de l’image, c’est une lettre. L’auteur raconte l’histoire de son village. On apprend qu’il lui est impossible d’y retourner à cause d’un conflit.

Cette vidéo nous situe dans un espace, en suspens entre deux lieux. La lettre ne donne aucune information sur là où se trouve son auteur, on devine seulement qu’il n’est pas dans la région qu’il décrit. Cependant l’image nous laisse supposer que le camion arrive ou s’en va de cette zone, sans savoir s’il est vide ou si l’auteur de la lettre est dedans. On peut autant imaginer qu’il y retourne, ou qu’il n’arrive jamais.
Note

« Je ressemble à celui qui emporte toujours dans sa poche une pierre de sa maison pour montrer au monde comment c’est chez lui. » Bertolt Brecht.


Aujourd’hui les objets, les idées comme les gens voyagent constamment et rapidement. De quelle façon concevons-nous chaque réalité sociale, comment les perceptions, les personnes et les choses voyagent et se transforment dans ce flux constant ?

Chacun de mes travaux commence toujours d’abord par une rencontre, celle d’un lieu, d’un contexte, d’une personne, d’un document, d’une histoire… et c’est à partir de là que le travail commence.

Je m’intéresse aux témoignages, aux documents, à l’histoire quand elle est officielle, à l’histoire quand elle est officieuse, au vécu qu’ont gardé certains objets ou certaines matières premières… Tous ces éléments deviennent les outils dont je me sert pour échafauder chacune de mes pièces. L’être humain est le personnage principal.

Bio

Artiste Colombien résidant en France. Diplômé en 2010 de l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Beaux-Arts de Paris avec les félicitations du jury. En 2011 exposition collective « Le Vent d’Après », commissariat assuré par Jean de Loisy (directeur du Palais de Tokyo). Obtenant par la même occasion le Prix Multimédia Des Fondations Des Beaux-Arts pour « A Tarapoto, Un Manati » et « A San-Vicente, Un entrainement ». Invité en Colombie, en 2012, par l’Ambassade de France et le Musée d’Art Moderne de Medellin pour une exposition personnelle « De Pasaje ».




Pour voir plus du travail de Marcos Avila Forero :

cargocollective.com/marcosavila

marcosavila.tumblr.com