francais

rémy briere




THE LOVER’S BOOKCASE


2013


The following pages are a stroll in my personnal bookcase. The fourty scans are the pages of an ephemeral and fantasized collection.

Either anonymous or easily recognisable, these images form a group of works that are dear to me and captivate my attention everytime I leaf through them.
Note

Remy Brière produces sculptures and images that he stages to create some potentially narrative situations. While most of his works play on simulacra concerning the use of such shape or material, he also brings them towards a choreographic or cinematographic dimension.

As he continues to respect the notion of «standard» as his condition of production, he infuses a bit of perversion in his works by associating them to a sensitive world, for example with a row of administrative A4 papers each of a different yellow nuance which are complemented with romantic peacock feathers (Etats d’âme, 2012). In «Ligne de conduite (2013), the ivy stem imposes its form to the copper tube, making it necessary to recreate the work for each exhibition, thus keeping it in a fragile state in between protocol and ornament.

Each exhibition is seen as a new layout in which the works brome a partition or characters for a bigger ensemble, stuck in an artificial setting derived from a model, in between the decorative shop and the experimental theatre setting. Thereby, during the last Bourges Biennial, he showed a frozen scene where everything indicates movement : the folds and drapes, the suspended masses and copper rods «conducting» the spectator’s look (Archives muettes °3, 2012), the slow degradation of the vegetation under their metal shell (Bronzes éphémères n°2, 2012), the different objects placed on the ground like props waiting for the show to start. The aesthetics of materials or objects of industrial design, those that determine the style of the waiting areas, substitutes of a culture of non-choice and compromise, become actors of «living pictures» concealing potential fiction, even melancholy.

Thus Rémy Brière deploys in space a language that calls on several potential simultaneous scenarios, all possible projections of our own mental spaces, both iconographic and emotional.

Axelle Blanc, 2013

Bio

Rémy Briere, lives and works in Paris.







To see more works of Rémy Briere :

http://www.remybriere.com




(« The Lover’s Bookcase » : sources are available in the colophon)

english

rémy briere




LA BIBLIOTHEQUE DES AMOUREUX


2013


Les pages qui suivent font l’état d’une promenade dans ma bibliothèque personnelle. Quarante scans comme tout autant de pages d’une collection éphémère et fantasmée.

Tours a tours anonymes ou facilement reconnaissables, les images forment un corpus d’œuvres qui me tiennent à cœur et continuent d’aiguiser mon attention a chaque lecture.
Note

Rémy Brière produit des sculptures et images qu’il agence dans des mises en scène qui sont autant de situations potentiellement narratives. Si la plupart de ses œuvres jouent du simulacre quant aux critères de valeur et d’usage de telle forme ou matériau, il leur confère peu à peu une dimension chorégraphique voire cinématographique.

Tout en respectant la notion de standard comme condition de production a minima, il la pervertit par association d’idées de l’ordre du sensible, par exemple lorsqu’une rangée de feuilles A4 de différentes nuances de jaune administratif sont augmentées de plumes de paon éminemment romantiques (Etats d’âme, 2012). Dans Ligne de conduite (2013), c’est la tige de lierre qui dicte sa forme au tube de cuivre, obligeant la pièce à être recréée à chaque exposition la retenant dans un équilibre précaire entre protocole et ornement.

Chaque exposition est l’occasion d’un nouvel agencement où les œuvres font partition et personnage, dans un décor d’artifice tout droit issu d’une maquette, à mi-chemin entre le magasin de décoration et la scène de théâtre expérimental. Ainsi à la dernière Biennale de Bourges, il présentait une scène figée mais où tout indique le mouvement : les plis et drapés, les masses en suspension et les tiges de cuivre « conductrices » du regard (Archives muettes °3, 2012), la lente dégradation des végétaux sous leur gangue métallique (Bronzes éphémères n°2, 2012), les objets posés au sol comme des accessoires au début d’un spectacle. L’esthétique des matériaux ou objets de décoration industriels, ceux qui conditionnent le style des lieux d’attente et de passage, succédanés d’une culture du non-choix et du compromis, deviennent ainsi les acteurs de « tableaux vivants » recélant un potentiel de fiction, voire de mélancolie.

Ainsi Rémy Brière déploie dans l’espace un langage qui convoque plusieurs scénarios potentiels et simultanés, comme autant de projections de nos propres espaces mentaux, à la fois iconographiques et émotionnels.

Axelle Blanc, 2013

Bio

Rémy Briere, vit et travaille à Paris.







Pour voir plus du travail de Rémy Briere :

http://www.remybriere.com




(« La Bibliothèque des Amoureux » : sources disponibles dans le colophon)