francais

sophie giraux

Seven Kilos (Oblique)
2012
charcoal powder, 30 x 30 x 30 cm

A sculpture that begins life as a perfectly formed parallelepiped; the passage of time then leads to its collapse, lending the work a whole new configuration.
Seventy Seven Seconds
2012
two slide projectors on timer, shelf, duration 1’17’’, variable dimensions

During the course of one cycle the projectors continuously search for their focal point, the two rectangles of white light independently shrinking and then enlarging, becoming slightly superimposed at their adjacent edge and for an instant gently achieving an identical size.

Hats Gemakt
2012
pencil on wall, 24 x 68 cm

They all said : “it’s not possible, then came the one who didn’t know and he did it” (unknown)
Elemental Subtraction
2012
Mirror, burnt and scratched on the backside, 120 x 50 cm

A marred reflecting surface makes room for transparency.

Blemish
2012
homemade rust, water, variable dimensions
Austrian Arrows
february 22 2012 (Vienna/Linz, Austria)
video / 5 min 12
Note

Sophie works on matter, whether it be photographic, video, light or organic, shaping their contrast or opposition. The fine subtlety of her pieces reach a brutal and fierce dimension when the evanescent matter becomes presence, the effects become flesh and light strikes us.
Sensitivity comes out of this rift which appears every time space or bodies consume eachother halfway between frailty and strength, like a deep and hidden wound reaching the brutality of sensitivity. It’s not what she gives us to see rather than what is to become : unravelled sensitivity.

Sarah Caillard


Bio

Sophie Giraux was born in Paris on the 1st of March 1984. She lives and works between Paris and Brussels. She successfully graduated from the Lacambre School of Visual Arts and obtained a degree in sculpture. She also did a course at Central Saint Martins in London. She is represented by Waxy Pith in Brussels.




To see more works of Sophie Giraux :

http://www.sophiegiraux.com

english

sophie giraux

Seven Kilos (Oblique)
2012
poudre de charbon, 30 x 30 x 30 cm

Une sculpture ayant la forme d’un parallélépipède parfait qui s’affaisse progressivement avec le temps, lui donnant une toute nouvelle configuration.
Seventy Seven Seconds
2012
deux projecteurs diapositives, étagère, durée 1’17, dimensions variables

Pendant la durée d’un cycle, les projecteurs recherchent continuellement leur point focal ; les deux rectangles de lumière blanche se rétrécissent et s’agrandissent indépendamment l’un de l’autre, se superposant légèrement sur leur coté adjacent, devenant délicatement de même dimension pendant un instant.

Hats Gemakt
2012
crayon sur mur, 24 x 68 cm

«Ils ont tous dit : ce n´est pas possible, puis vint celui qui ne savait pas, et il l’a fait.» (anonyme)
Elemental Subtraction
2012
Miroir brulé et gratté sur le verso, 120 x 50 cm

Une surface réfléchisssante abimée laisse place ici ou là à la transparence

Blemish
2012
rouille fabriquée, eau, dimensions variables
Austrian Arrows
22 février 2012 (Vienne/Linz, Autriche)
video / 5 min 12
Note

Sophie travaille la matière qu’elle soit photographie, vidéo, lumière, ou materiaux dans leurs contrastes et oppositions la plus totale. La subtile fragilité de ces pièces prennent une dimension brutale et féroce. La matière evanescente se durcit jusqu’à se nouer, l’effet devient chair, la lumière nous frappe.
Le sensible ressort alors de cette faille qui surgit à chaque fois de l’espace ou les corps se dévorent entre fragilité et force, comme une blessure profonde et cachée, la brutalité du sensible. Ce n’est pas tant ce qu’elle donne à voir plutôt que ce qui est à être: le sensible mis à nu.

Sarah Caillard


Bio

Sophie Giraux est née à Paris le 1er mars 1984, elle vit et travaille entre Paris et Bruxelles. Elle est Diplomée d’un master de sculpture de l’école d’arts visuels de La Cambre à Bruxelles, elle a également effectuée un séjour à la Central Saint Martins de Londres. Elle est représentée par Waxy Pith à Bruxelles.




Pour voir plus du travail de Sophie Giraux :

www.sophiegiraux.com