francais

valérie collart




Cinegraphs
2014
Series of four animated images, collaboration with Mekki Sebastian Brink.




As the light fades out, the shadows appear
2013
Series of seven photographs
C-Print on Hahnemühle paper, 60X80 cm (each)




Pillar
2014
C-print, 160X113 cm




Note

My work is principally based in sculpture and photography. I experiment within the limits of the mediums to reflect on their permeability. Or to define it more precisely, I am working in a place where flatness, illusion and surfaces are at stake.

The experimental nature of my studio work takes centre stage. I have a straightforward approach towards my work in which attempt and error are more important than the desire of a clean and polished object.

In recent works, the objects adopt an uncleaned, sometimes impoverished style combined to an impression of fragility. As small scaled objects, they engage a proximity with the viewer as well as intimacy. In most of my sculptures, I want to sustain the idea of stability and solidity but at the same time i want them to reveal their fragility, their precariousness, to drive a reflexion of the complex relationship between order and chaos.

Another important aspect of my research is to focus on the surfaces of the sculptures, so as to contradict our impression of their nature.

My work claims itself from an identifiable and diverse artistic heritage that generates diverse interpretations and impose at the same time its own individual universe.

Bio

Born in 1981 in Bordeaux, France. She lives and works in Copenhagen Denmark, and she keeps a strong link with France. VC is graduated in 2006 from the national superior fine arts school, Villa Arson, in Nice, France. Since then, she has developped a sculptural body of work strongly linked to photography. Her work has already been seen in numerous exhibitions in France and abroad.

Selected exhibitions: Forårsudstillingen 2014, Kunsthal Charlottenborg, Copenhague. Monument, Musée des beaux arts de Calais. Out of order, on the nature of materials, curator Nina Wöhlk, gallery Leth and Gori, Copenhague. Jeune création 2013, Le Centquatre, Paris. Kunstnernes Efterårsudstilling 2013, Den Frie, Copenhague. Falsities, WerkStadt, Berlin.




To see more works of Valérie Collart :

www.valeriecollart.com

english

valérie collart




Cinegraphs
2014
Série de quatre images animées, réalisées en collaboration avec Mekki Sebastian Brink.




As the light fades out, the shadows appear
2013
Série de sept photographies
Impression jet d’encre sur papier Hahnemühle, 60X80 cm (chacune)




Pillar
2014
Impression jet d’encre, 160X113 cm




Note

Mon travail privilégie et questionne les médiums de sculpture et de photographie et leur perméabilité. Plus précisément, j’aborde l’objet en privilégiant les notions de planéité, d’illusion et de surface.

Le travail d’expérimentation dans l’atelier, est au centre de ma pratique. il y a une volonté d’efficacité des moyens trouvés, une certaine rapidité de construction au bénéfice de l’expérimentation et de l’énergie créative plus qu’une recherche de finition de l’objet, ce qui participe à l’élaboration d’un vocabulaire formel précis et personnel qui entre en résonance et se renforce d’une pièce à l’autre.

J’établis à travers chaque objet, des conditions formelles, qui réunissent d’un côté un sentiment de stabilité, de solidité et de l’autre une contemplation de la précarité du volume, de sa matérialité,  de sa fragilité qui peuvent nous mener à penser à la relation complexe qui se tisse entre ordre et chaos.

De manière également importante, je fais des choix définis qui concernent le traitement apporté aux surfaces des sculptures : couleurs et textures, afin de provoquer un véritable changement de nature de l’objet.

Mon travail se situe au cœur d’un univers formel régie par l’ambigüité, qui joue des glissement qui s’opèrent entre photographie, peinture et objet sculptural.

Mes sculptures puisent leur inspiration au sein d’un héritage artistique divers et revendiqué, qui participe à multiplier les pistes de lectures tout en imposant leur univers stylistique propre.

Bio

Née en 1981 à Bordeaux, vit et travaille à Copenhague au Danemark, tout en continuant d’entretenir un lien fort avec la France. VC suit des études à l’école nationale supérieure d’art, Villa Arson, à Nice, où elle obtient son DNSEP en 2006. Elle poursuit depuis une pratique de sculpture, tout en établissant des ponts avec la photographie. Son travail à déjà été vu dans de multiples expositions en France et à l’étranger.

Sélection d’expositions: Forårsudstillingen 2014, Kunsthal Charlottenborg, Copenhague. Monument, Musée des beaux arts de Calais. Out of order, on the nature of materials, curator Nina Wöhlk, gallery Leth and Gori, Copenhague. Jeune création 2013, Le Centquatre, Paris. Kunstnernes Efterårsudstilling 2013, Den Frie, Copenhague. Falsities, WerkStadt, Berlin.




Pour voir plus du travail de Valérie Collart :

www.valeriecollart.com